Republicans Rejoice as They Secure Committee Chair Positions After Chaotic Speaker Election

Republicans Rejoice as They Secure Committee Chair Positions After Chaotic Speaker Election

( – Kevin McCarthy finally holds the top seat in the House after a historic delay in electing a candidate. The delay also slowed down the process of nominating members to lead committees, so even with the next Speaker selected, Republicans still had some work to do. Following the prolonged process of determining a new Speaker, several Republicans earned the chair positions of their respective committees.

The House GOP Steering Committee was able to button up unfinished business after the delay ended. The 30-member panel is responsible for choosing committee assignments, and chairmanships had chosen several members for the various groups back in December without incident.

However, the Steering Committee left four chairs open for the Ways and Means, Education and Workforce, Budget, and Homeland Security committees due to the resistance of stern Republicans to McCarthy’s Speakership. The GOP usually has all its panel members and chairs in order weeks before a new Congress commences.

The Steering Committee picked Representative Jodey Arrington (R-TX) to lead the Budget, beating out Georgia’s Rep. Buddy Carter and Rep. Lloyd Smucker (R-PA). For the Homeland Security Committee, the 30-member panel concluded Rep. Mark Green (R-TN) would be the best choice to lead. Green was competing against Rep. Dan Crenshaw (R-TX) to fill the open spot left by Rep. John Katko’s (R-NY) retirement.

The Steering Committee chose Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-NC) to chair the Education and Workforce panel. Foxx received a waiver to run again after she had already served the maximum amount of three consecutive terms as chair. The North Carolina Republican defeated Representative Tim Walberg (R-MI) for the position. For the Ways and Means Committee, the 30-member panel chose Rep. Jason Smith (R-MO) as chairman. Smith is a close ally of McCarthy and defeated two other Republicans, Reps. Adrian Smith (R-NE) and Vern Buchanan (R-FL), for the spot.

~Here’s to Your Prosperity!

Copyright 2023,